

# Cliffe and Cliffe Woods Parish Council

42 Quickrells Avenue, Cliffe, Rochester, Kent ME3 7RB

Parish Clerks: Mr Chris Fribbins and Mrs Michelle Dolley

To all Parish Councillors - You are summoned to attend the ANNUAL MEETING of Cliffe and Cliffe Woods Parish Council to be held at 7:00pm on Thursday 6<sup>th</sup> May 2021, ON ZOOM. (see May meeting for details)

## **AGENDA**

(current positions on page 2)

# 1.0 **Election of Chair for 2021/2022**

The Parish Council Chair is elected annually at the AGM, where his/her election is the first business on the Agenda. He/she holds office until his/her successor is elected. (LGA 1972)

All Parish Councillors are eligible to stand as Chair – please consider in advance of the meeting whether you would like to do so. (A vote will be taken if there is more than one candidate). (Acceptance of Office)

## 2.0 Apologies for Absence

## 3.0 **Declarations of Interest**

Disclosable Pecuniary Interests under the Code of Conduct for Parish Councils.

A councillor, who declares a pecuniary interest may not participate in discussion or vote on the matter. If an interest is not declared at the outset of the meeting, it should be disclosed as soon as the interest becomes apparent. Dispensation may be requested in writing to the Clerk (Proper Officer) who under certain circumstances will allow a councillor to speak and vote on the matter.

- 4.0 Approval of Minutes of the Meeting held on 14/5/2020
- 5.0 Matters Arising from Minutes of Meeting held on 14/5/2020
- 6.0 **Election of Vice Chair for 2021/2022** All Parish Councillors are eligible to stand as Vice Chair please consider in advance of the meeting whether you would like to do so. (A vote will be taken if there is more than one candidate). (Acceptance of Office)
- 7.0 **Date/Times of Council Meetings** to agree, The meetings are currently 7:30pm, usually the second Thursday of each month (but delayed to the third Thursday if 1st of the month is Wednesday or Thursday). The Parish Council does not schedule a regular meeting in April. Online meetings will start at 7pm
- 8.0 Confirmation of Committees for 2021/2022 (and Appointment of Members)

(The Chair is ex-officio on all committees). Please consider in advance of the meeting whether you would like to serve on any of these and in the case of 8.1 and 8.2, whether you would like to stand as Chair.

- 8.1 Finance and General Purposes (and selection of Chair) recommended minimum 6 councillors)
- 8.2 Planning (and selection of Chair) recommended minimum 6 councillors
- 8.3 Youth Liaison (minimum 3 councillors and other non-councillors as required by the committee)
- 8.4 Personnel Advisory Committee (minimum 3 councillors, 5 recommended)
- 8.5 Governance Working Party (minimum 3 councillors, 5 recommended)
- 8.4 Allotments (minimum two councillors)

9.0

10

- 8.6 Footpaths and Common Land (minimum 3 councillors and other non-councillors as required by the committee)
- 8.7 Cliffe Village Fayre Committee (two councillors, others including non-councillors, on request by the committee)
- 8.8 Health and Safety Advisor to the Parish Council

# Election of Representatives on Outside Bodies for 2021/2022

- 9.1 Kent Association of Parish Councils (KALC) Medway Area Committee 2 representatives
- 9.2 Police Liaison/PACT 2 representatives (+ substitute)
- 9.3 Medway Council Rural Liaison Committee 1 representative (+ substitute)
- 9.4 Cliffe Memorial Hall Liaison up to 2 representatives
- 9.5 Cliffe Woods Community Association Liaison 1 representative
- 9.6 Cliffe and Cliffe Woods Community Trust up to 3 for varying 4 year terms
- 9.7 Bretts Liaison interested councillors and non-councillors, RSPB and Bretts
- 9.8 Patient Participation Groups at least one for Cliffe and Cliffe Woods combined
- 9.9 Neighbourhood Plan Steering Group interested councillors and non-councillors
  Governance issues and priorities Standing Orders, Financial Regulations, GDPR, Policies Review

#### Committees

## **Finance & General Purposes**

Keep an eye on the Parish financial affairs and advise on spending, including grants

Chair Barry Dibble, Vice Chair Andy Keates

Members

Jim Wenban, Ray Letheren, Barry Dibble, Andy Keates, Vivienne Walton, Joan Darwell, Farrelly, The Chair -is ex-officio and normally attends

The Clerk (RFO) and Clerk (PO) both attend

Quarter 1,2 & 3 Internal Review/Audir – Councillor required who is not on F&GP

## **Planning**

Look at all planning applications in the Parish area and any others that might affect the area. Also general Planning and development control issues such as Local and Strategic Planning Chair Fred Harper

Members - Jim Wenban, Joan Darwell, Ron Naughton-Dean, Annette Cooper, Sue McDermid, Andy Keates. The Chair is ex-officio, the Clerk(PO) advises the committee

## **Youth Liaison**

Liaise with Cliffe and Cliffe Woods Youth Clubs and promoting youth issues.

Members - Sue McDermid\*, Vivienne Walton\*, McLeod, Wyatt, Farrelly, McGovern

\* Resigned during the year

(non councillors Chris Fribbins, Michelle Dolley)

Allotments - Ray Letheren, Peter Clements

Footpaths and Common Land Members - Joan Darwell, Fred Harper

Cliffe Village Fayre Advisory Committee Joan Darwell

Health and Safety Councillor (review and advise of risk assessment and procedure – Andy Keates

Representatives on Outside Bodies Representing the Parish

Medway Council Rural Liaison Committee – Ron Naughton-Dean

KALC and Medway Area Committee - Sue McDermid, Fred Harper

Police Liaison/PACT - Barry Dibble

Cliffe Memorial Hall Liaison – Sandra Fenney

Cliffe Woods Community Association Liaison - Vivienne Walton

Sue McDermid, Sandra Fenney & the clerk Chris Fribbins are also Management Trustees

#### Cliffe Parochial Charity (non-councillors can also be appointed)

Andy Keates, non councillors (Ken Kentell, Chris Fribbins)

**Brett's Liaison Group -** Jim Wenban, Sue McDermid, Joan Darwell, Ray Letheren (Chris Fribbins (non councillor))

Patient Participation Forums (now combined) Cliffe/Cliffe Woods - Sue McDermid, Sandra Fenney

Cliffe and Cliffe Woods Neighbourhood Plan Steering Group from Parish Council Chris Fribbins, Cllrs Joan Darwell, Fred Harper, Sue McDermid, Annette Cooper

**Governance Working Party** – Ron Naughton-Dean, Annette Cooper, Sandra Fenney, Andy Keates

Personnel Advisory Committee - (Barry Dibble, Ron Naughton-Dean, Sandra Fenney)
C Fribbins Parish Clerk 25/04/2021