

# **Cliffe and Cliffe Woods Parish Council**

42 Quickrells Avenue, Cliffe, Rochester, Kent ME3 7RB

☎ 01634 566166
⑦ clerk@cliffeandcliffewoods-pc.gov.uk

Parish Clerks: Mr Chris Fribbins and Mrs Sue Hibbert

To all Parish Councillors

You are summoned to attend the ANNUAL MEETING of Cliffe and Cliffe Woods Parish Council to be held at 7:30pm on Thursday 11<sup>th</sup> May 2017, at the Emmanuel Centre, Parkside, Cliffe Woods.

# AGENDA

(current positions on page 2)

## 1.0 Election of Chair for 2017/2018

The Parish Council Chair is elected annually at the AGM, where his/her election is the first business on the Agenda. He/she holds office until his/her successor is elected. (LGA 1972)

All Parish Councillors are eligible to stand as Chair – please consider in advance of the meeting whether you would like to do so. (A vote will be taken if there is more than one candidate).

#### 2.0 Apologies for Absence

#### 3.0 **Declarations of Interest**

Disclosable Pecuniary Interests under the Code of Conduct for Parish Councils.

A councillor, who declares a pecuniary interest may not participate in discussion or vote on the matter. If an interest is not declared at the outset of the meeting, it should be disclosed as soon as the interest becomes apparent. Dispensation may be requested in writing to the Clerk (Proper Officer) who under certain circumstances will allow a councillor to speak and vote on the matter.

#### 4.0 Approval of Minutes of the Meeting held on 12/5/16

#### 5.0 Matters Arising from Minutes of Meeting held on 12/5/16

## 7.0 Election of Vice Chair for 2017/2018

All Parish Councillors are eligible to stand as Vice Chair – please consider in advance of the meeting whether you would like to do so. (A vote will be taken if there is more than one candidate).

# 8.0 Confirmation of Committees for 2017/2018 (and Appointment of Members)

(The Chair is ex-officio on all committees).

Please consider in advance of the meeting whether you would like to serve on any of these and in the case of 8.1 and 8.2, whether you would like to stand as Chair.

- 8.1 Finance and General Purposes (and selection of Chair) recommended minimum 6 councillors)
- 8.2 Planning (and selection of Chair) recommended minimum 6 councillors
- 8.3 Youth Liaison (minimum 3 councillors and other non-councillors as required by the committee)
- 8.4 Allotments (minimum two councillors)
- 8.5 Footpaths and Common Land (minimum 3 councillors and other non-councillors as required by the committee)
- 8.6 Cliffe Village Fayre Committee (two councillors, others including non-councillors, on request by the committee)
- 8.7 Health and Safety Advisor to the Parish Council

#### Election of Representatives on Outside Bodies for 2017/2018

- 9.1 Kent Association of Parish Councils (KALC) Medway Area Committee 2 representatives
- 9.2 Police Liaison 1 representative (+ substitute)
- 9.3 Medway Council Rural Liaison Committee 1 representative (+ substitute)
- 9.4 Cliffe Memorial Hall Liaison up to 2 representatives
- 9.5 Cliffe Woods Community Association Liaison 1 representative
- 9.6 Cliffe and Cliffe Woods Community Trust up to 3 for varying 4 year terms
- 9.7 Bretts Liaison interested councillors and non-councillors, RSPB and Bretts
- 9.8 Patient Participation Groups at least one for Cliffe and one for Cliffe Woods
- 9.9 Neighbourhood Plan Steering Group interested councillors and non-councillors

C Fribbins Parish Clerk

9.0

03/05/2017

#### Committees

# **Finance & General Purposes**

Keep an eye on the Parish financial affairs and advise on spending, including grants Chair Sandra Fenney, Vice Chair Ron Naughton-Dean Members

Jim Wenban, Sue McDermid, Ray Letheren, The Chair -is ex-officio and normally attends The Clerk (RFO) and Clerk (PO) both attend

#### Planning

Look at all planning applications in the Parish area and any others that might affect the area. Also general Planning and development control issues such as Local and Strategic Planning Chair Fred Harper Members - Jim Wenban, Lynne Bush, Joan Darwell Gill Moore, Fred Harper, Derek Graves, Ron

Naughton-Dean. The Chair is ex-officio, the Clerk(PO) advises the committee

#### Youth Liaison

Liaise with Cliffe and Cliffe Woods Youth Clubs Members - Sue McDermid, Vivienne Walton, Phillip Stanley (non councillors Chris Fribbins, Iain Walton, Janet Taylor)

Allotments - Ray Letheren, Peter Clements, Faith Eyers

#### Footpaths and Common Land

Members - Joan Darwell, Gill Moore, Fred Harper

#### **Cliffe Village Fayre Advisory Committee**

Joan Darwell, Gill Moore

#### Health and Safety Councillor

(review and advise of risk assessment and procedure - Phillip Stanley

#### **Representatives on Outside Bodies Representing the Parish**

Medway Council Rural Liaison Committee - Phillip Stanley

KALC and Medway Area Committee - Sue McDermid, Fred Harper

Police Liaison - Phillip Stanley

Cliffe Memorial Hall Liaison - Lynne Bush, Faith Eyers

**Cliffe Woods Community Association Liaison -** Vivienne Walton Sue McDermid, Sandra Fenney & Chris Fribbins are also Management Trustees

**Cliffe Parochial Charity (non-councillors can also be appointed)** Lynne Bush, non councillors (Ken Kentell, Chris Fribbins)

**Brett's Liaison Group -** Lynne Bush, Jim Wenban, Sue McDermid, Joan Darwell (Chris Fribbins, non councillor)

#### Patient Participation Forums

Cliffe - Lynne Bush, Faith Eyers Cliffe Woods - Sue McDermid, Sandra Fenney

**Cliffe and Cliffe Woods Neighbourhood Plan Steering Group** from Parish Council Chris Fribbins, Sue Hibbert (non councillors), Gill Moore, Joan Darwell, Fred Harper, Lynne Bush, Sue McDermid